News & Events

News Search:

Union HRD Minister Smriti Irani honoured 36 LPU Academicians and Researchers at LPU Campus

Release Date:
22 May 2016

  • Occasion was 15th Founders’ Day celebrations at LPU Campus 
  • Hon’ble Minister also hoisted 108 feet high national flag at the campus to commemorate the occasion
  • Honoured 36 faculty members for their distinguished contribution to the quality education and research
Union Minister of Human Resource Development, Government of India, Smt Smriti Zubin Irani reached Lovely Professional University today and honoured 36 faculty members for their distinguished contribution to the quality education and research.  The occasion was 15th Founders’ Day celebrations at LPU Campus, where Hon’ble Minister also hoisted 108 feet high national flag at the campus to commemorate the occasion and to enthuse national pride among student community and countrymen-women. Addressing 3000+ Faculty & Staff members of LPU, Hon’ble Minister appreciated the elegant role played by LPU Management and staff members in the domain of higher education.
 Appreciating the vastness of LPU strength in many modes and means and congratulating the award winning faculty members, Hon’ble HRD Minister expected university to be a great part of the “Unnat Bharat” scheme of the government. Upholding the great contribution of LPU faculty and staff members in the exemplary and all-round development of students, the minister asked them to spread awareness about technology, engineering, management, agriculture and more among common men-women living around their campus and to those who are deprived of getting first-rate education as at LPU campus. She also asked students to be at least up to the standards they cast for their progress and career. Members of Punjab Legislative Assembly Mr Som Parkash and Mr Manoranjan Kalia (Former Cabinet Minister) were also present on the occasion.

Prior to this, LPU Chancellor Mr Ashok Mittal accorded warm welcome to the eminent guest of the day and expressed gratitude for her being at the campus even on a Sunday.  Appreciating the youngest HRD Minister ever for her numerous commendable initiatives and tasks taken to reform India’s education system, Chancellor Mittal said: “Your initiatives to revise the curriculum for highlighting Indian values, history and science is highly appreciable.

Under the influence of western education, we were forgetting our own heritage but your initiatives are bringing back that lost pride. Now, under your dynamic leadership, India is going to have a new and reformed education policy that is sure to help realize Prime Minister Modi’s vision of less government, and more governance. We are happy to note that as you have worked on these initiatives, you have kept the private sector in the sphere. Just like the 1991 reforms that made Indian economy competitive at the world level, we believe that right now, you are bringing-in similar ground breaking reforms in the education sector. ” 

Mr Mittal took great pride while informing Hon’ble Minister that like her the motto of LPU is also to ever "Think BIG". Appreciating her dynamistic approach in diverse fields, he also wished her to acquire the highest ministerial post of the country in future like her predecessors did. He also mentioned that the hoisting of national flag at the campus will ever instill strong national fervor and pride among all students, staff members and onlookers.

Hon’ble Minister bestowed 7 Research Appreciation Awards to the best researchers at LPU including Dr Sachin K Singh from LPU School of Pharmaceutical Sciences and Paramedical sciences, Dr Sandeep Kaur of Applied Arts, Dr Rajesh Verma of Management, Dr Nitikanth of Sciences, Dr Loveleen, Assistant Professors Lavish Kansal and Shahid Ul Islam of Engineering & Technology. In addition, 27 Teacher Appreciation Awards were bestowed upon 3 teachers each from LPU Schools of Computer Science & Engineering, Electronics & Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering; 2 from School of Management; and, one each from Schools of Pharmaceutical Sciences, Physiotherapy and Paramedical sciences, Architecture and Design, Journalism Films & Creative Arts, Hotel Management and Tourism, Fashion Design , Arts and Languages, Education, Physical Education, Biotechnology and  Biosciences, Agriculture, Physical Sciences, Computer Application, Civil Engineering, Polytechnic and Professional Enhancement. Based on students rating two Assistant Professors of School of Journalism, Films and Creative Arts and School of Polytechnic were also honoured with Dr C. B. Gupta Award.